Skip to main content
Changes ahead
Some pages will look different than others as we modernize to bring you an even better website.

Feb. 12

Feb. 12, 2019


Derek Rayment
Public + Media Relations Manager
531-MCC-2876, office
402-960-0697, cell

MCC auto students repair car, gift it to fellow student

Metropolitan Community College Electrical Technology student Tanner Meyo is the recipient of a newly refurbished Mercury Montego through the Recycled Rides for Schools program. Meyo was presented the car at the inaugural Metro Omaha Trades Invitational awards ceremony, held Feb. 2 at the Center for Advanced and Emerging Technology on the College’s Fort Omaha Campus.

The car donation was made possible through a collaboration between public and private sectors. The salvaged car was donated by the William and Shirley Umberger Trust to be used in the Recycled Rides for Schools program, a community service program of the National Auto Body Council. Repairs were then made by the MCC Auto Collision Technology students as part of their curriculum.

After repairs, the MCC Foundation worked to identify a deserving recipient through a selection committee comprised of the key players involved in the donation and refurbishment of the car. Meyo was selected because of his hard work in and out of the classroom in addition to his future goals and aspirations of starting his own electrical company.

“We are doing more than just giving away a car,” said Joe Baker, MCC Auto Collision instructor. “We are assisting this student to reach his goals of graduating, working in a trade and owning his own business.”


Metropolitan Community College, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, is a comprehensive, public community college that offers affordable, quality education to all residents of Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy and Washington counties. Founded in 1974, MCC has the largest enrollment out of six community colleges in Nebraska and is the second largest post-secondary institution in the state. MCC serves more than 40,000 unique credit and noncredit students.