GPTC banner

Marshall Mason

Marshall Mason Marshall W. Mason was the founding artistic director of the legendary Circle Repertory Company, acclaimed by the New York Times as "the chief provider of new American plays." His 40-year collaboration with Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Lanford Wilson was certified by Playbill as the longest collaboration between a writer and director in the history of the American theater.

Mason directed 12 plays on Broadway that earned him five Tony nominations for Best Director: Knock Knock by Jules Feiffer, Talley´s Folly (New York Drama Critics´ Circle Award for Best Play and the Pulitzer Prize), Fifth of July and Angels Fall by Lanford Wilson and As Is by William M. Hoffman (Drama Desk Award for Best Play). Four productions received Tony Awards, and there were 24 nominations. His other productions on Broadway include Burn This, Redwood Curtain, The Seagull and Gemini.

Off-Broadway, Mason has been honored with five OBIE Awards for Outstanding Director (The Hot L Baltimore, Battle of Angels, The Mound Builders, Serenading Louie and Knock Knock), as well as a sixth OBIE for Sustained Achievement. Among his many memorable productions are Edward J. Moore´s The Sea Horse (Vernon Rice Award for Best Play), William Mastrosimone´s Sunshine, Romulus Linney´s Childe Byron, Larry Kramer´s The Destiny of Me (Lortel Award for Best Play), Robert Patrick´s The Haunted Host, David Storey´s The Farm, Lanford Wilson´s first full-length play Balm in Gilead and Wilson´s most recent Book of Days (American Critics´ Association Award for Best Play).

His work has been seen nationwide with productions such as O´Neill´s Long Day´s Journey into Night; Pinter´s Old Times; Tennessee Williams´ Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Summer and Smoke and A Streetcar Named Desire; Ibsen´s Ghosts; Edward Albee´s The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia? and Martin McDonagh´s The Cripple of Inishmann at theaters like Washington´s Arena Stage, the Guthrie in Minneapolis, the Ahmanson and the Mark Taper Forum in Los Angeles, the Repertory Theater of St. Louis, the Milwaukee Rep, the Pittsburgh Public, the Hartford Stage and the Arizona Theater Company.

Internationally, Mason has directed Edward Albee´s Who´s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? in Tokyo at the National Theater of Japan and Lanford Wilson´s Home Free! and The Madness of Lady Bright in London.

He has been honored with the Theater World Award for his discovery and nourishment of new talent such as William Hurt, Kathy Bates, Christopher Reeve, Jeff Daniels and many others. He received the Margo Jones Award for his cultivation of new writers and both the Inge Festival Award and the Last Frontier Award for lifetime achievement. He has won the Irwin Piscator Award, three DramaLogue Awards and four AriZoni Awards. In 1999, he was awarded a special millennium "Mr. Abbott" Award as one of the most innovative and influential directors of the 20th century.

Mason is the author of Creating Life on Stage: A Director´s Approach to Working with Actors (Heinemann Press, 2006). Professor Emeritus of Arizona State University, he now divides his time between Mazatlán, México, and New York City.