Skip to main content
Information Systems and Technology

TECTA - Overview

Information Systems and Technologies - Overview

Below you will find two levels of certification divided up into six individual programs.

Level I Career Certificate

The Information Systems and Technologies Pathway consists of two, Level I career certificate. This pathway also includes two, Level II career certificate choices.

I.T Technician level 1 I.T Technician (TETCA)

The MCC I.T. Technician certificate provides students with industry-standard foundational IT knowledge. Students learn foundational skills and concepts covering computer hardware, operating systems, and networking. The certificate's curriculum directly aligns to the following IT industry certifications: CompTIA IT Fundamentals+, CompTIA A+, Microsoft Desktop Associate (MDA), and Cisco Certified Network Associated (CCNA). The curriculum also introduces objectives for the Red Hat Certified Systems Administrator (RHCSA) certification.

After selecting the Level I, Information System/ Technologies career certificate, students should also choose their complimenting Level II career certificate from the options listed below.

Level II Career Certificate(s)

Cisco Advanced Networking level 2 Cisco Advanced Networking (CANCC)

The MCC Cisco Networking Academy® offers students the technical knowledge needed to obtain Cisco’s nationally recognized computer networking certification, Cisco Certified Network Professional™ (CCNP™). CCNP certification indicates intermediate knowledge of networking systems. Cisco curriculum undergoes ongoing refinement using Cisco’s Curriculum Development Overview model. Our faculty and teaching facilities are Cisco-certified and training is conducted using the latest equipment.

Cloud/Server Administration level 2 Cloud/Server Administration (ITCSA)

The MCC Cloud/Server Administration certificate prepares students to successfully implement, configure, and maintain the Cloud, Windows or Unix infrastructure. Students gain a strong technical foundation in configuring, managing and monitoring a network infrastructure both in the physical and virtual environments.

Cybersecurity level 2 Cybersecurity (CYBCC)

The MCC Cybersecurity certificate allows students to acquire a background in cybersecurity related to information, software, systems, users, and organizations including aspects of policy, human factors, and impact on society. This program focuses on communication skills to explain technical and complex cybersecurity topics to non-technical persons, documentation, information technology, protecting network systems, securing system devices, information assurance, incident reporting, forensics and legal topics related to cybersecurity.  In addition, students must demonstrate ethical conduct and integrity for the cybersecurity industry.

IT Support level 2 IT Support (ITSCC)

The MCC I.T. Support certificate prepares students to support organizations that provide critical services to ensure effective IT operations. Students gain a diverse set of skills to provide desktop support covering a multitude of technologies including software support, hardware support, basic networking skills, telephony support, security and a wide range of other technology issues.

IT Generalist level 2 IT Generalist (ITGEN)

The MCC IT Generalist certificate allows students the ability to explore various I.T. topics by choosing any course under the INFO prefix. This certificate is both a standalone certificate and is also a Level II certificate option within the Associate in Applied Sciences – Information Technology (AASIT) degree. Students select 31.5 credit hours from INFO prefix courses.

Contact Us

If you have any questions or would like more information about our IT programs, please don't hesitate to contact us. Our knowledgeable staff are here to help and can be reached by phone, email, or in-person. We look forward to hearing from you and helping you achieve your educational goals.