## 10101 <u>Authority for the Establishment of the Metropolitan Community College Area and Board of Governors</u>

Chapter 85, Article 15 of the Revised Statutes of Nebraska authorizes and creates the six locally governed, independent Nebraska community college areas. References in these policies to "the Act" or "this Act" shall mean Article 15 of Chapter 85 of the Nebraska Statutes unless the context otherwise requires.

Through enactment of this Act, the Legislature has declared that community colleges can be most truly responsible to the people they serve when primary control of such institutions resides with the citizens of the distinct geographic areas of the system. The intent and purpose of this legislation is to create locally-governed and locally-supported community college areas with the major educational emphasis on occupational education. Each community college area is intended to be an independent, local, unique, and vital segment of higher education separate from both elementary and secondary school systems and from other institutions of higher education; community colleges are not intended to be converted into four-year baccalaureate degreegranting institutions. The Metropolitan Community College Area has been created for such intents and purposes.

These policies set forth guidelines for the operation of the College. In these policies, the following definitions shall apply unless the context otherwise requires:

- (1) Metropolitan Community College shall mean the educational institution established by the Legislature and operating within the Board's jurisdiction, and will hereafter be referred to as the College.
- (2) Board shall mean the Metropolitan Community College Area Board of Governors.
- (3) Area refers to the four county geographic area--Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, and Washington counties--served by Metropolitan Community College.
- (4) "The Act" (or "this Act") shall mean Article 15 of Chapter 85 of the Nebraska Statutes.

(Amended 12/18/84; 9/22/92; 11/27/12)